joshguessed

172nd Ask Josh – My Superb System

In Uncategorized on August 8, 2011 at 10:37 pm
Dear Readers

This is not in response to a question. This is just me talking about my new self-improvement system. I’m really excited about it, and I need to get it written down otherwise the goals I attach to it are not goals at all, but just wishes. That, and one of the goals is to do some writing every day, be it in my journal or on my blog… nulla die sine linea.

Anyway, my system is SUPERB. S-U-P-E-R-B. And under this system, ideally every day is superb. What does my superb day consist of?
S – Scripture reading
U – something you (as in Susan) picked out for me that week. This first week is to watch HP.
P – Practice a new skill.
E – Exercise 15 minutes. Today I ran to the mall and back. About two miles roundtrip.
R – Writing. I have to write something every day, be it in my journal or my blog.
B – Business reading. I have a stack of pop-business books outside of my new school booklist. So I have to read a little of that everyday to hopefully get through that pile.
While I acknowledge that the reward of a thing well done is having done it (Thank you, Mr. Emerson), Susan has reluctantly allowed me the extrinsic motivation of getting a booster pack of Magic: The Gathering cards for every five consecutive superb days I have, redeemable at the time of family vacation to use in drafts with my dear siblings.
In addition to my intrinsic and extrinsic motivation to help me accomplish these daily tasks, I have decided to make myself accountable to the entire unknowing public. How so? Every time someone asks me how my day went, I will either be able to tell them it was superb, or I will have to say it was less than superb. And since I don’t want to have to explain why I am doing less than superb, I will use that as an extra spur to make sure I get everything done, every day.
And now that I have written something today, I can now say with confidence that today was superb.
Readers, I’d love to hear what systems you may be using to achieve your goals. Please share.
Love,
Josh
p.s. Here are some inspirational videos to get you psyched up.
Leave a Reply

