joshguessed

143rd Ask Josh – Finals?

In Uncategorized on June 14, 2009 at 9:44 am

Whitney Dewey asked via Facebook…

mr. guest,

tai en los examenes finales?
because i miss your blogs.

……

Dear Whitney,

I am not in final exams. I recognize that I have not written in a goodly while. Here is what I have been up to lately:

  • I have been studying for the Law School Admissions Test. I just took the LSAT on Monday. I had been studying for it for about 4 months. I pampered myself the week preceding by going out for food frequently, the morning before the test I took the day off work and watched Mary Poppins on YouTube as well as all the fight scenes from the Rocky movies. Just try and be sad after watching Dick Van Dyke sing “Step in Time” or watching the training montage just before Rocky fights Ivan Drago in Rocky IV. In any case, it took up a lot of my time lately.

  • I worked three jobs this summer. I was in the newsroom at the BYU Daily News, starting at 7:00 am. There I worked at the assignment desk where I answered phones, scoured through 5 or 6 newspapers, sifted through press releases, and even did a little tape editing and news writing on the side.
  • At 12:00 after I got through with the news I walked straightway to the Preprofessional Advisement Center. Since I didn’t have time for a lunch break I would eat my lunch as I walked between jobs. I would eat a sandwich, a Nutrigrain bar (blech). a stick of cheese, a cup of fruit (since I kept on forgetting the spoon, I learned to fit it all in my mouth in one single pour), maybe a pudding here or there and a weight loss shake.
  • At 3:00, when I finished Prelaw advisement work, I would go to work for Multicultural Student Services where I prepared for SOAR. A program that helps to identify and prepare multicultural candidates to apply for BYU.
  • At 6:00 I was done with SOAR and then I went to class where I learned about LSAT where I finished at 9:00.
  • I also did 1 credit worth of research for a professor where I coded Supreme Court transcripts. Since my time was very limited, I usually fit this into the cracks of whenever I was watching television at a friend’s house or waiting in line at the movie theater, or anywhere else that could stand to have a laptop present.
  • And I did the weather on TV, too. Don’t believe me? Check me out here. Or here. Or here. Or here. Or here. Or here. Or even here. Or perhaps here. You might be lucky if you look here, too.

So, Whitney. No. I have not been taking finals. But I’m glad you missed the blog. I’ll see what I can do about it hoy mismo.

Que te vaya cachilupi,

Josue

  1. I went to SOAR forever ago… it was awesome! And it's how i got into BYU

Leave a Reply

