joshguessed

124th Ask Josh –

In Uncategorized on March 23, 2009 at 9:03 pm

I am fairly psychotic. I am spontaneous, oftentimes blunt, and usually cross the line. And sometimes I like to kiss boys in my apartment. After midnight.

Once upon a time… a friend of mine wants to live me this year but I am CONVINCED she would hate my guts forever, look down on me, judge me (albeit righteously) and inevitably come to despise me. On the other hand, she is quite lonely here and I'm pretty sure if I find some excuse not to live with her, I will go to Hell. 

My question: Am I already going to Hell as it is for breaking curfew and kissing boys? Should I spare her the year of torture living with me and encourage her to find somewhere else if I'm already banished to fire and brimstone? Should I explain to her that it would turn out to be an awkward year because of all of my flaws and all of her perfections?

…..
Dear Crossroads,
Are you going to Hell for kissing boys after midnight in your apartment?  
Well, that all depends. There's no law against that if you aren't going to BYU. And you may kiss boys in your apartment after midnight on a Friday night if you are a BYU student.  So if you are going to Hell, it is probably for another reason. 
Should you spare your roommate a year of torture living with you and encourage her to find somewhere else?
All that really matters is if it's close to campus, rent is cheap, utilities are included, and cleaning checks are lenient to non-existent. If those conditions are present you can live with anyone. Just ask my roommate.
Should you explain to her that it would turn out to be an awkward year because of all your flaws and all of her perfections?
I want to hear her side of this. If she's willing to put up with your shenanigans it might do you both some good to stay together for another year. She might not ever serve a mission and have one of "those" companions, but if you're as much of a pain as you say you are, it might have the same effect, and she will give talks about you forevermore. Based on how you described it, she's kind of a loser and you're kind of a floozy. So maybe you can work that into some kind of a funny sitcom-like situation like, "Fast times with Loser and Floozer" or something like that.
Love,
Josh

Leave a Reply

