joshguessed

86th Ask Josh – Million Dollar Donation

In Uncategorized on January 11, 2009 at 9:41 am

If you had the power to give a million dollars to anyone on the world (aside from yourself) who would you give it too and why?

– Linze Kate


….

Dear Linze Kate,

The answer you're looking for:

I would give it to the Courage to Hope foundation. Courage to Hope is a new organization set up to help fight domestic abuse worldwide. It is still in the grassroots stage could use my hypothetical funding. 


True answer:

If I had a million dollars to give away, I would gladly give it to you. Then I would say, "Wait, I was supposed to donate this to the United Negro College Fund." Then I would take the money back and then pocket it.  I gave to someone aside from myself, did I not?

In reality I would be giving a good chunk of it to the federal government. According to the IRS Federal Gift Tax code, I would be paying… well, I can't quite figure out this mumbo jumbo.  But I found the form you would need to fill out to find out how much you have to pay in taxes. I'm pretty sure the government takes a pretty good bite out of it.




  1. I suddenly feel SO much cooler because you answered my question on your blog…. Seriously. Does that make me lame? That could be another question for you to answer… In response to your answer, two points have I…. One, I’m basically half black, so donating to would kin of be like donating to the “United Negro College Fund.” Thus, taking it back would be a null and void issue. Second, I would have spent it already… giving it to “Courage to Hope” Foundation. *muah*

Leave a Reply

