joshguessed

54th Ask Josh – Getting a Life

In Uncategorized on November 14, 2008 at 2:11 pm

Krista said…
All right, I’ve got a question for ya, all-knowing Josh of Oz…

I recently found myself watching COPS on my parents’ couch at 1 AM. How do you suggest I get a life?
….
Dear Krista,
I was about to tell you to buy a share of Life.  But that stock went bust.  So you couldn’t buy a Life if you wanted to. Life design also died.  The last time I checked it was down to 2 cents per share, it used to be worth hundreds of times mores than that.


Author-signed copies of the book “Getting a Life” are for sale at only $5.00 a piece online.  Just go to http://www.gettingalife.org

You know what? I don’t know. 

Maybe watching COPS is your best bet.


I’m just going to move onto the next question. 

  1. What are you going to do in the future when your blog is so popular that you have too many questions and cannot answer them all?

  2. um yeah, josh. you know me. so you should know… i really need help. you shouldn’t just leave me to a fate of bad tv and no friends.that’s just mean.

  3. It’s a tough call. We (and when I say “we” I mean “all single people”) seem to think that getting married is the solution to all our methods of reasoning that would lead us to conclude that we have no life. We base a large part of our worth/identity/purpose upon our marital status. But I am not so naive as to think that your problems of finding your identity/life will end once you tie the knot.I think the key then is to find out what you would be happy doing for the rest of your life, then get to it. You obviously are not going to be happy watching TV, so find something else.I have found that if I spent the rest of my life building up inspirational knowledge and dispersing it to others, I would be perfectly happy; regardless of whether I was single or married, rich or broke, healthy or ill.

  4. thanks, josh. i’ll make sure and pass that advice along to my friend. what? you didn’t think that story was really about me did you?*nervous laugh

  5. oh, by the way. i don’t believe “my friend’s” question had anything to do with marriage… but don’t worry, buddy. you’ll find her someday. 😉

  6. Hey, don’t go turning this around on me. This is about you… I mean your friend.

Leave a Reply

