joshguessed

14th Ask Josh – Top 5 songs

In Uncategorized on August 25, 2008 at 8:55 pm

Josh Guest!

Wow. Not only are you extremely funny, but you are a talented writer.  I saw your plug for your blog on facebook so I decided to check it out.
You set the bait, I’ll bite:
What are your top 5 favorite songs for a sleepy lazy Sunday night at 1:10 am?
Oh yes, and why?
…………………
Elyse Hudson!
I’m so glad you took the bait.  If there’s one thing I love more than compliments, it’s attention.  And you have brought me both. Consequently you have made my day.
About songs for a sleepy lazy Sunday night.  Well, being that I just had one of those I will tell you some of my top 5 songs for just such an occasion.  And then some.
So here they are, my top 5 songs for just about everything:
Piano solos for going to bed:
5. Schubert – Moment Musical
4. Billy Joel – Root Beer Rag
3. Claude Debussy – Clair de Lune
2. Franz Liszt – Hungarian Rhapsody
1. Camille Saint-Saens – Carnival of Animals, Aquarium
Liszt and Joel both go crazy fast on the piano and just smash the keys, I love the speed and intensity with which they play.  Saint-Saens and Debussy both managed to make the most smooth sounding songs I have ever heard.  And Schubert is just… I’m just tickled by listening to him.
Best acoustic guitar solos/bands:
5. Bryan Adams – Summer of ’69 (while on MTV: Unplugged)
4. Alberto Plaza – Ahora (Desenchufado)
3. Plain White T’s – Hey There Delilah
2. (Tie) Hanson – MmmBop (Acoustic version) & Obadiah Parker – Hey Ya (Also Accoustic)
1. Death Cab For Cutie- I Will Follow You Into The Dark
There just seems to be more sincerity behind the music when it’s just the singer and their guitar.
Best songs to listen to on headphones:
5. Mirah-In The Garden (SYTYCD mix)
4. The Beatles- Yellow Submarine
3. Edgar Winter – Frankenstein
2. Led Zeppelin – Black Dog
1. Pink Floyd – Money
Best movie soundtrack songs:
5. Gladiator – Gladiator Waltz
4. Star Wars- March of the Stormtroopers
3. It’s a Beautiful Life – Barcarolle (by Offenbach)
2. Groundhog’s Day – Rhapsody on a Theme by Paganini (by Rachmaninoff)
1. The Graduate – All the Simon & Garfunkel songs
Honorable mentions for Singin’ in the Rain, an American in Paris, Newsies, and O Brother Where Art Thou.
Great Epic Songs:
5. Celine Dion – It’s All Coming Back To Me Now
4. Meat Loaf – I Would Do Anything for Love, Paradise by the Dashboard Light
3. Bonnie Tyler – Total Eclipse of the Heart
2. Air Supply – Making Love Out of Nothing at All
1. Dire Straits – Telegraph Road
I kind of cheated on this one. I mostly just picked songs by Jim Steinman, 2-5 are all his songs.  And they’re all epic.  Gotta love that guy.
Best female soloists:
5. Tracy Chapman – The Promise
4. Leona Lewis – Bleeding Love
3. Alicia Keys – No One
2. Alanis Morrisette – Head Over Feet
1. Michelle Branch – Goodbye to You (Acoustic)
Alanis really should be behind a lot of these people, but clicking and pasting doesn’t work with blogger, so I’m leaving her where she is.  
Best Broadway Songs:
5. Phantom of the Opera – Music of the Night, Think of Me, All I Ask of You
4. My Fair Lady – Wouldn’t It Be Loverly, I Could Have Danced All Night
3. Oklahoma – Oklahoma, What a Beautiful Morning, The Surrey With the Fringe on Top, Poor Judd is Dead, Kansas City
2. Sound of Music – Edelweiss, Do Re Mi, My Favorite Things, The Goodnight Song
1. Wicked – Defying Gravity, Popular, For Good, I’m Not that Girl
I love all these songs, and there are  lots of honorable mentions for everything by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Rodgers & Hammerstein, those include Cats, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Cinderella, South Pacific, The Wizard of Oz and others.  I also love The Music Man, Les Miserables, Mamma Mia, West Side Story, Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, oh there’s so many great broadway shows and songs.  Sorry I can’t list them all. Though not on Broadway, allow me to say that High School Musical 1 and 2 both changed are incredible.
Best vocals backed up by choir:
3. Josh Groban – You Raise Me Up
2. Celine Dion & R. Kelly – I’m Your Angel
1. R. Kelly – I Believe I Can Fly
No matter how much you may hate any of these people, you have to love the key changes and the choirs.  Gospel choirs and key changes make any song the best in the whole world.
Best Songs from Guitar Hero/Rock Band
5. Skid Row – 18 & Life
4. Lynyrd Skynyrd – Free Bird
3. Kansas – Carry On Wayward Son
2. Weezer – My Name is Jonas
1. All the songs by Boston
Best Songs to Listen to in Car on way to Grocery Store
5. Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody
4. (tie) Imogen Heap – Hide & Seek, Andy Kim – Rock Me Gently
3. The Kinks – Come Dancing
2. The Hooters – And We Danced
1. One Republic – Apologize
Best Classic Rock
5. (Tie) Scorpions and Def Leppard
4. Survivor
3. Styx
2. Foreigner
1. Journey
Best Albums That You Can Just Listen To All the Way Through
5. (Tie) Gordon Lightfoot – Gord’s Gold, Pink Floyd – Dark Side of the Moon
4. John Denver – Greatest Hits
3. Phil Collins – Hits
2. Juanes – Mi Sangre
1. Cat Stevens – The Very Best of
People you should listen to but maybe don’t:
10. Frank Sinatra
9. Simon & Garfunkel
8. James Taylor
7. Barry Manilow
6. Neil Diamond
5. (tie) Michael Jackson and Elvis Presley
4. Johnny Cash – Especially his later albums, Unearthed and the American series
3. Celine Dion
2. Billy Joel
1. Elton John
Bands I hate but still like once in a while:
1. U2
There are a lot more lists I could make.  But I have to stop myself before I get carried away.  I love to talk music though. I especially love oldies and songs that I can imagine during the closing credits of a really great movie.  But here are my top 10 all-time songs (subject to change pretty much all the time):
10. Whitney Houston and Mariah Carey – When You Believe (purely for the key change)
9. Cat Stevens – Morning Has Broken
8. Journey – Faithfully
7. Bryan Adams – Summer of ’69
6. Pretenders – I’ll Stand By You
5. Harry Nilsson – Without You 
4. Elton John – Your Song
3. Cat Stevens – Father & Son
2. UB40 or Elvis Presley or even Jon Schmidt  – Can’t Help Falling in Love
1. Ben Folds – The Luckiest
Totes.
  1. josh, i believe you got carried away!! question, if you have an mp3 / ipod, how many songs do you have on it?

  2. I agree!However I love the “bands I hate but still sometimes listen to: U2.!

  3. Describe the ideal girl down to the very last detail, and why.

  4. Ooo…the above is a good question, and I’m anxiously awaiting your response. Anyway, I live over at Carraige Cove Apts of State Street and around 1700 N. I went to spring and summer term and am starting up full time for fall. Where are you at?

  5. Wow!! Your Dad and Mom must have done a wonderful job of exposing you to all sorts of music!! They must be fabulous °Ü°!! I suppose the length of your responses will diminish once school starts, eh?!? Love you tons!!

Leave a Reply

