joshguessed

6th Ask Josh. Re: Obama

In Uncategorized on July 27, 2008 at 12:11 am

JOOOOOOOOSH!

WhazZUP! whats the deal with “senator” barak obama???? do you lik him or Love him?

……………

Dear ANOOOOOOONYMOUS!,

I don’t believe I have ever harbored any prejudicial feelings towards any race.  If i ever did, I have long since left them behind. So what I say, I say objectively. I realize that by making this disclaimer I could be accused of using an anti-racism preamble as a defense mechanism of my deep racist freudian underpinnings, but it isn’t. I’m just telling you, I’m not racist. I am thrilled that America has reached the point where a member of a minority group is within striking distance of the White House. My only grievance: why him? Why couldn’t it be someone with experience in the White House like Colin Powell or Condoleeza Rice?

I will grant you that he is a likable person, I will even grant you that he seems to be a person of high moral character. But it seems that his appeal is not based upon what he is but what he isn’t. Not because he is a qualified, seasoned, politician (which things he definitely isn’t), but because he isn’t old like McCain; not because he is savvy about the economy, but because he hasn’t been in a position where he had the ability to overspend.

I saw him speak in Berlin last Thursday. I sincerely gave him my ear. I waited for him to say something of substance. But all I heard was empty rhetoric. “This is our time!” Our time for what? Whose time? “This is our moment!” What? To overthrow the establishment and set up a government where this Ivanhoe-esque hero takes from the haves and gives more to the have-nots. “We need to unite the world!” Okay. Good one.

The fact that he made the speech in Berlin at all seemed a little presumptuous to me. There he stands where former great presidents took a specific stand despite unpopularity from other nations. Prior to visiting Berlin, President John Fitzgerald Kennedy said, “Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden, meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe to assure the survival and the success of liberty. This much we pledge — and more.”

Try to imagine Obama pledging to defend liberty at any cost. No, that’s not his way. He is more of the appeasing, conceding type. He tells the anti-Americans and disgruntled Americans alike. “Your country has failed you.” As opposed to “Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country.” No, he blames all the problems on the government and thereby makes people think that it’s not the people who are ever at fault, but the Oval Office devoid of Obama.

President Kennedy would later visit Berlin and make his famous “Ich bin ein Berliner” speech where he said “Freedom is indivisible, and when one man is enslaved, all are not free.” There he had congratulated the people of Berlin for their patience and stalwartness against communist oppression, but not until after he had himself anguished under the mantle of the presidency during the Cold War. What has Barry Obama done for Berlin? He has criticized the administration that has tried to make liberty possible for a country perhaps not so affluent and ancestrally tied to many Americans. In a similar scenario, I can picture Barry saying, “Well, the situation isn’t great in Iraq, but whatcha gonna do? As long as Europe likes me, I don’t care if the Middle East tears itself apart. The Middle East problem will just sort of go away if we look the other way. But France liking us? Now that’s the change we should believe in!”

Our current president has taken a similar stance, as a nation, we have paid the price, borne the burden, met the hardship, supported the friends, and opposed the foes, and we still do. Our president has received no small criticism for it, and on more than just one occasion has Mr. Obama lifted his heel against him. Yet he stands in the place where President Ronald Reagan stood up to the world power of the Soviet Union and said the timeless words, “Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall.”

Our current president was so bold as to tell the tyrannous Saddam Hussein that he had 48 hours to get out of Iraq. I just don’t see Barack doing that. In fact, according to him, it would be better if Saddam were still in power. It would be better if we had never gone in.

I am still in awe at the presumption of Mr. Obama in speaking in Berlin, almost as if he was taking credit for the work that past presidents have performed and acting as if he was just trying to get re-elected after his 40-some odd years of just being a good person while others did the unpopular work.

If I am off the mark in my assessment of Obama’s attitude in campaigning, I am not too far off the mark when I say that the next presidency will be the most difficult yet for any president. And we don’t need a rookie to just pick it up as he goes along.

  1. josh, as promised the “question”…..how do you store your amazing quotes?

  2. wow, i’m really impressed. that is quote the formulated opinion. and eloquent too.

Leave a Reply

