joshguessed

Summer Reading

In Uncategorized on July 9, 2008 at 12:31 pm

Many have been asking me what books I have been reading this summer and they always ask me if I have read such and such a book. This discussion board will open it up for anyone to add their summer reading picks are. So far I have read this summer:

A Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich – Alexander Solzhenitsyn
The Jungle – Upton Sinclair
The Inferno – Dante Aligheri
Trusting Jesus – Jeffrey R. Holland
Twelfth Night – Shakespeare
Tao Te Ching – Lao Tzu (The book of scripture for Taoism)
Speeches That Changed the World – Various, including Churchill, Jesus, Moses, Hitler, Stalin, Lenin, Gandhi, George W., Patton, and others.
Jesus Rediscovered – Malcolm Muggeridge
Beyond Personality – C.S. Lewis
Civil Disobedience – Henry David Thoreau
The Great Divorce – C.S. Lewis
The Miracle of Forgiveness – Spencer W. Kimball
As You Like It – Shakespeare
What Wives Expect of Husbands – Brent A. Barlow

I am currently reading these:
A Disciple’s Life: The Biography of Neal A. Maxwell – Bruce C. Hafen
Discourses of Gordon B. Hinckley vol. 1 (1994-1999?)
Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
The Essential Writings of Ralph Waldo Emerson
Walden – Henry David Thoreau
Lincoln (Biography of Abraham Lincoln) – Hoover
The Aeneid – Virgil
Faith, a Principle of True Religion – Gordon B. Hinckley
Promise of Discipleship – Neal A. Maxwell
Taming of the Shrew – Shakespeare

Before the end of the summer I plan on reading:
Discourses of Gordon B. Hinckley vol. 2 (2000-2004)
Othello, The Merchant of Venice – Shakespeare
Oedipus at Colonus – Sophocles

And if I have time:

He’s Just Not That Into You – Greg Behrendt
Harry Potter
Twilight Series (I read the first one and hated it)
As A Man Thinketh
The Infinite Atonement – Callister
The Autobiography of Parley P. Pratt

Let me know if you have any other good reads please.

Cheers.

  1. Wow! That’s quite a list!How was Tao Te Ching? I am really curious how you found that and what kind of a read it was. Also The Problem Of Pain? Although I’m so behind in C.S. Lewis books, I should probably get up to speed on that and then ask. And even after this list, I’m not sure what I would recommend, nor what your style is. I’m in the middle of A Tree Grows In Brooklyn, I like that so far. Have you read it?(by the way, I LOVE this blog. Well done, Josh. What are you doing with the rest of your time? and how was your vacation to Utah?)

  2. Dear LyssaKissa,Tao Te Ching was… enlightening. It was definitely better than the Koran. Not as good as the book of Proverbs. Problem of Pain is… well. Not his best work in my opinion. My favorites by C.S. Lewis would rank as follows:1. Screwtape Letters2. Mere Christianity3. God in the Dock4. Beyond Personality5. The Four Loves6. Problem of Pain7. MiraclesI would love to read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, up til now I have only used that book title as a joke.Today I bought a bunch of sweet hardcover books at a killer price, brand new. Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas HardyLes Miserables – Victor HugoHunchback of Notre Dame – Victor HugoCandide – VoltaireWhite Fang and Call of the Wild – Jack LondonMetamorphoses – OvidThe Aeneid – VirgilThe rest of my time is spent working, going to Singles’ Branch activities practically every day of the week (some of these people are college students at Oregon Tech in town and have no families to go home to and therefore must socialize every night), and I am trying to master just enough piano pieces to make girls think that I play so that way I can trick one into marrying me.Dear Alyssa, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways. So good to hear from you. Please make known to all of our readers what you have learned and loved about A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. And have a very Merry Monday. Besitos mojados.

  3. Oh, and one other thing about the Tao Te Ching. It’s a really quick read. You can do it in one sitting without much effort. It contains the oft quoted phrase used as the theme for many a middle school and crappy high school commencement ceremonies, “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

Leave a Reply

